Kyle Busch dominates Brickyard 


NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Crown Royal Presents the Combat Wounded Coalition 400

Photo by: Robert Laberge

Kyle Busch outran the entire field Sunday evening with a 2 second lead in double overtime for his second straight win at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Busch led 149 laps, a race record, for back-to-back wins at the 2.5-mile oval. Busch becomes the first driver since 2009 to win two years in a row.

“This Toyota was awesome today. Man, it was just so fast.” Busch said, “not even some of my teammates could challenge me. We just had it hooked up. It was like it was on rails.”

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver beat his teammate in double overtime for the victory. A incident involving Trevor Bayne and Clint Bowyer sent the race into overtime, however they did not make it to the official overtime line before a spin by Jamie McMurray brought out the last caution.

Although Joey Logano contended for the win on the first restart, Busch’s restart in double overtime propelled him ahead of the field for his fourth victory this season.

While Busch was celebrating his win, Stewart Haas Racing driver and co-owner, Tony Stewart and Jeff Gordon, per request from Stewart, took a celebratory lap around the racetrack. Stewart plans to retire at the end of the year and finished 11th in his last running at his home track.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s